configuring differential drive with treaded tracks

This is the place to ask question about Enchanting, talk about your Enchanting projects or simply find out more about Enchanting on the NXT.

Moderator: clintonb

enchanted_learner
New User

configuring differential drive with treaded tracks

Postby enchanted_learner » Sat Feb 28, 2015 6:04 pm

Hi, I recently discovered Enchanted for the NXT. I'm very new to both the NXT and the Enchanted software, and really like the idea of drag and drop programming. Thank you creators!

On to my question:

I'm using the very basic first robot design from the NXT instructions, which uses the tank treads. I'm trying to set up the differential drive measurements for wheel diameter and track width but having a real hard time. I'm testing this by using a drive in a square program sequence of drive forward X distance, turn 90 degrees, repeat 4 times. If I use the exact measurements (using a ruler) as recommended in the configuration of differential drive tutorial video, then my NXT doesn't actually turn 90 degrees. For wheel diameter I've tried measuring both the diameter of the plastic wheel, as well as the diameter of the wheel and rubber tread. For track width I measured from the middle of the rubber tread on the left track to the middle on the right.

What am I doing wrong? I'm guessing its because I'm using he tank treads and not rubber wheels.

Thanks!

clintonb
Active User

Re: configuring differential drive with treaded tracks

Postby clintonb » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:59 pm

Hi enchanted_learner.

I'm glad you like enchanting.

I worked on a video explanation of precisely calibrating a differential drive robot, but never did finish. Someone else has a tutorial here. I can't say I've ever actually tried this with a treaded robot, but i think it should work.

There are two parts:
1) Figure out the straight distance
2) Figure out the turning distance