debugging

This is where you talk about the EV3 software itself, installation issues, and programming talk.

Moderators: roger, gloomyandy, skoehler

moo
New User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:43 am

debugging

Postby moo » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:07 am

I am new to lejos and is it possible to step through the code in debugger?

When I setup lejos plugin and RUN AS -> LEJOS EV3 Program it builds fine but I get

Jar file has been created successfully
Using the EV3 menu for upload and to execute program
No EV3 Found


I upload the jar using EV3Control and run it from there.

Is there any other way?

User avatar
gloomyandy
leJOS Team Member
Posts: 5867
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: debugging

Postby gloomyandy » Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:15 am

A couple of things...
1. Stop using an old version of leJOS, 0.9.1 is the current version (and has been for a long time), we made changes so that automatic discovery of EV3s is much better in 0.9.1 and fixed a bunch of bugs.

2. If the eclipse plugin is unable to find your EV3 you should fix that. If the auto discovery is not working then you should configure the IP address of the EV3 in the plugin configuration.
https://sourceforge.net/p/lejos/wiki/In ... %20plugin/
make sure you use the IP address of your EV3, not the one given in the Wiki!
leJOS news https://lejosnews.wordpress.com/

moo
New User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:43 am

Re: debugging

Postby moo » Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:14 am

Thank you for the advice. I will look into it. Currently I am using USB cable to connect since network adapter failed to work for me. (Netgear WNA1100 N150)

User avatar
gloomyandy
leJOS Team Member
Posts: 5867
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: debugging

Postby gloomyandy » Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:36 am

Are you sure you have that model? I'm not aware of anyone having problems with it. Does it work with the LEGO firmware?
leJOS news https://lejosnews.wordpress.com/

User avatar
gloomyandy
leJOS Team Member
Posts: 5867
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: debugging

Postby gloomyandy » Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:58 am

There are pictures of the tested WiFi adapters here:
https://wordpress.com/posts/my/lejosnews.wordpress.com
The Netgear one is the huge one at the left end.
leJOS news https://lejosnews.wordpress.com/

moo
New User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:43 am

Re: debugging

Postby moo » Tue May 02, 2017 1:34 am

i have a weird problem.

So everything was working good with USB cable and I upgraded lejos (using pc). However, I am using macbook for development work.

Today I can no longer connect using USB. EV3Control says no EV3 found. So I setup the wifi (successful). Now when I run, it starts program in the brick automatically. However, I can't connect to brick using EV3Control anymore (USB/WIFI)

not sure what changed for me. I am sure I was able to connect to brick after the upgrading lejos in the brick last time..

sorry that I can't provide detailed information. (Not sure where to begin)

User avatar
gloomyandy
leJOS Team Member
Posts: 5867
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: debugging

Postby gloomyandy » Tue May 02, 2017 9:28 am

You have not provided much information to work with. Have you upgraded the version of leJOS on your Mac? The two must match. Are you saying you can talk to the EV3 from eclipse on your Mac, but not from the control center? How exactly are you trying to connect the control center to the Ev3? are you using serach? What happens if you enter the IP address of the EV3? Can you ping the IP address of the EV3 (remember you need different addresses for USB and for WiFi)?
leJOS news https://lejosnews.wordpress.com/

moo
New User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:43 am

Re: debugging

Postby moo » Wed May 03, 2017 2:45 am

1.Yes. Run As->EV3 automatically find,connect,upload and run the program in EV3 Brick, whereas EV3Control does not detect any EV3 brick.
* I have the brick connected using USB
* I successfully setup NETWORK
* Previously I used EV3Control to connect via USB. Run As did not work for me before.
* I have no idea whether it is now using USB or network to connect when I use Run AS->EV3

2.
I upgraded to the same version in mac. Still does not work Here's what I did to upgrade.
a. download and unzip leJOS_EV3_0.9.1-beta.tar
b. update ~/.bash_profile
export PATH=$PATH:/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/Current/Commands/
export EV3_HOME=/Users/DH/Documents/leJOS_EV3_0.9.1-beta
export LEJOS_EV3_JAVA_HOME=/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/Current/Commands/
(Confirmed that these are valid and correct locations)

3. Yes. I am using SEARCH. I tried entering ip addresses and both ip addresses seem to work!
I guess USB is not working?

* Ping working fine as well:
My brick shows the following IP addresses in the LCD. Not sure which one's which.
10.0.1.1
192.168.0.102

leJOS_EV3_0.9.1-beta DH$ ping 192.168.0.102
PING 192.168.0.102 (192.168.0.102): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.0.102: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=316.556 ms

ping 10.0.1.1
PING 10.0.1.1 (10.0.1.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 10.0.1.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=1.736 ms

moo
New User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:43 am

Re: debugging

Postby moo » Wed May 03, 2017 3:13 am

perhaps USB connect is just not working? In any case thank you for your help. I can connect using ip address as a workaround.

User avatar
gloomyandy
leJOS Team Member
Posts: 5867
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: debugging

Postby gloomyandy » Wed May 03, 2017 7:31 am

If the address 10.0.1.1 works when used explicitly then USB is working fine, the 10.0.1.1 address is the address of the EV3 when using a USB connection.

How are you starting the EV3 control center? From the command line or from the eclipse leJOS menu?

Have you updated the settings in the leJOS eclipse configuration to reference the new version of leJOS?
https://sourceforge.net/p/lejos/wiki/In ... %20plugin/
You need to tell the plugin the location of your EV3 installation.

What settings do you have for the EV3 name in your eclipse plugin?
leJOS news https://lejosnews.wordpress.com/

moo
New User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:43 am

Re: debugging

Postby moo » Fri May 05, 2017 12:54 am

>>Have you updated the settings in the leJOS eclipse configuration to reference the new version of leJOS?
This fixed for me. Strangely, I could not connect by entering either ip addresses today (although worked before) But after changing it to point to the correct version of lejos, it fixed the issue.

Thank you.


Return to “EV3 Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests