Is this possible?

Post your EV3 projects, project ideas, etc here!

Moderators: roger, gloomyandy, skoehler

New User

Is this possible?

Postby RunnerAlwaysRun » Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:47 am

Hi, i am a beginner want to host a php website in windows OS using XAMPP that is able to control the basic movements of ev3 (eg, user click forward button resulting ev3 moving forward). I have tried out one tutorial which is able to drive ev3 using the web server that is hosted on the ev3 brick (any device not connected in the same network as the ev3 will not able to drive the robot). My approach here is to have an online website that is always running and being hosted in windows os that is able to control ev3. Is this possible with leJOS ? Could i more information on how to make this done if it is possible? I am still deciding whether to dive into MonoBrick Firmware(they said possible), ev3dev firmware (not yet ask), or LeJOS firmware... :roll: :roll: :?: :?:

leJOS Team Member

Re: Is this possible?

Postby lawrie » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:48 pm

Yes, of course it is possible. There are many ways you can do it. You can do it with either your own server running on the EV3, or with just the menu running on the EV3.

If you only have the menu running you need to use a form of remote execution that the menu supports. Java RMI is not much use to you as you are not running Java on the PC. You could use the object stream remote execution (RemoteRequestEV3) but this was added after the 0.8.1 release so you need to use the 0.8.2 tag or a recent snapshot to use this.

You are probably better running your own server on the EV3. One option is to run a web server on the EV3 and forward requests to it from the web server on the PC. But a simple socket server is probably a better option, and you can implement your own set of commands.